Dadventures: Disney Diary, Days 6 & 7

Tired, but a good kind of tired. A ‘Clark Griswold after finally reaching Wally World’ sort of tired. I should have mentioned it at the beginning of this series, but my long-term plan is to expand this into a more in-depth set of posts after we get back to reality (and a full-sized keyboard, and I have more than five minutes of lucidity at the end of the day) next week.

Acknowledgement:This has been an awesome week, and none of it would have been possible without my awesome and amazing Wifey. I can’t even imagine the work she put into planning every last aspect of this vacation. She missed her calling as a private trip advisor.

This is another two-in-one post, because honestly last night we came back to the room and collapsed.

Yesterday was our third day at the Magic Kingdom, and we packed a lot – and I mean a lot – into it. For one thing, the park opened an hour early for resort guests so we were able to skip some lines and get some rides in early. Since Katie’s not tall enough for Space Mountain, we went there first and got Fast Passes with the intention of Mama riding first, then me getting a turn. So while she went there, the kiddos and I took in (at Katie’s request) the Carousel of Progress again. After that, Mama and the kiddos hopped on the People Mover and I made my way over to the coaster for my turn – only to find out it was going to be closed for the next hour. The day was off to an inauspicious start.

But all’s well that end’s well, and I was able to get back to Space Mountain before the day was out. It was quite possibly the best coaster experience ever, and I’d highly recommend it.

Also yesterday we made a return trip/victory lap through It’s a Small World, rode the Buzz Lightyear ride twice, and ate a very (surprisingly, for me) good French-themed lunch at the Beast’s castle. We also met Tinkerbell and Katie finally tracked down one of her favorite princesses, Tiana from the Princess and the Frog. We topped the evening with a visit to Chef Mickey’s for supper. The food was great and the character greetings (Mickey, Donald, Goofy, Pluto and Minnie) were a cool plus for the kiddos.

Today was check-out day for us at our resort, so we packed the Swagger Wagon early and hopped the bus to Hollywood Studios.

It’s a cool place but I think we were simply too tired to fully enjoy it. We did get to ‘meet’ Lightning McQueen and Mater from Cars, which was neat. We watched a 3D Muppets show and a laser/black light take on The Little Mermaid, both of which were really well done. Mama and Violet caught a musical version of The Lion King while Katie and I rode the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror, which is currently tied with Space Mountain for the title of my personal favorite ride ever. Not so much for Katie-Bug, who pronounced it ‘not awesome’ upon leaving. In our souvenir pic from the drop, she’s holding onto my arm and looks like she’s about to poo herself. Our last ride was one through a bunch of movie scenes, including Munchkinland from The Wizard of Oz which I’m pretty sure made Violet’s trip.

So that’s pretty much it. We hopped the bus bus back to our resort and the girls went swimming for a while, then we finished up checkout and headed to Kissimmee, our launch pad for the journey back home tomorrow. It’s been a blast! I honestly came into this trip a skeptic, but I’m leaving a believer. We’ll definitely be back, hopefully soon!

Categories: Dadventures | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

Christie Pepper

A working mom's salvation

Beyond The Stones

A little bit of this and A little bit of that and maybe a lot of talk about Kidney Stones

Falling Pianos

All things that "strike a chord" in me.

